Welcome to Fortune’s Coast

The start of a new journey

Friends, family, and curious readers: welcome to Angelfools, a novel published weekly as I write it. This project is one that I’ve been keeping on the back burner for the better part of four years, and now that I’ve graduated and have evenings to myself again, I think it’s high time I actually started it.

A lot has gone into this story already, even though it isn’t written yet. I’ve taken copious notes on trivia and esoterica, created a robust cast of characters with placeholder names, ¬†mapped out a convoluted plot that will probably change twice as many more times as it has already, and even put together some concept art (which will hopefully be joined with more illustrations as I continue). As I publish each installment, I hope to also provide commentary about the writing and storytelling process (spoiler free).

As with any project of this scale, I owe much to other people for inspiration and advice. For now, I’ll start by thanking my friend Ted Tinker for publishing his own novel in a similar format, as I’ve been invigorated by his example (I also got the commentary idea from him; good writers use other good writers’ techniques). You should definitely check out his novel Akayama DanJay, a story about “reincarnation, hallucinogenic bugs, and giant space robots.” It’s a real treat to read.

The first chapter of Angelfools is available here. I hope you’re excited to read this story, because I’m excited to tell it.

Author: Ben Ginsburg

I'm a writer, a storyteller, and a dreamer. As a recent graduate of UC Davis with a shiny new B.A., I decided its finally time to start writing that novel. So join me as I write, rewrite, and talk about it.

Leave a Reply

